Skip to main content
Civil Air Patrol National Headquarters
Main Content

Grover Loening Award

Civil Air Patrol
Grover Loening Award
Fact Sheet

The Grover Loening Award is given to Civil Air Patrol (CAP) members who complete Level III of the Senior Member Professional Development Program.  It recognizes those members who have dedicated themselves to leadership and personal development in the CAP.  This award was first given in 1964 and honors the late Grover Loening.  A noted aviation pioneer, he was the first civilian member of the National Air and Space Museum’s Advisory Board.

Civil Air Patrol is the Auxiliary of the United States Air Force. CAP has a three-fold mission.  It includes emergency services, the cadet program, and aerospace education.  CAP professional development provides technical skills and leadership training to senior members age 18 and over to support CAP’s mission.  The program enables these adults to develop these skills while providing a vital public service to our nation.

As the member progresses through the program, he or she completes five increasingly complex training levels.  Each level requires the member to become more involved in CAP activities, master skills in one of 23 technical areas, and develop leadership ability.  As he or she completes these levels, the member receives awards, chances for promotion, and selection for more important roles within CAP.

The third milestone is the Loening Award.  Members must have received the Benjamin O. Davis, Jr. Award, and have served in staff or command assignments over at least one year.  Members must also complete the Corporate Learning Course, and attend two wing, region, or national conferences.

Of CAP’s 35,000 senior members, only about 350 earn the Grover Loening Award each year.  Receipt of the award and completion of rank and time-in-grade requirements also makes the member eligible for promotion to CAP Captain.

© 2020 Civil Air Patrol. All rights reserved.