Skip to main content
Civil Air Patrol National Headquarters
Main Content

Cadet Cyber

Developing the next generation of cyberspace defense operators is an urgent national need. CAP cadets are rising to the challenge through self-study, classroom lessons and activities, competitions, and week-long career exploration academies. 

 

Cyber Badge Program

Basic, Intermediate, and Advanced Cyber BadgesTo encourage cadet participation in CAP’s cyber education programs, cadets may earn the Cadet Cyber Badge which recognizes a cadet's dedication to cyber education. To learn more, download the pamphlet (PDF) and use the tracking log (XLSX) to keep track of the cadet's progress in the program. 

Summer Cyber National Cadet Special Activity

As of 31 Dec 2019, the summer cyber NCSA is being redesigned for summer 2020, which will integrate cyber security certification standards into the career exploration courses and dovetail with the Cadet Program Cyber Module which is in production. At this time, the dates, locations and are in progress. We will open registration as soon as possible.

Please look for other national-level cyber activity offerings available now by entering “technology” in the “Category” filter on the NCSAS.com homepage. Please note that we will host AFA CyberPatriot Camps, but these will not be posted until early spring and will have local registration. Your region or wing may offer other cyber career familiarization activities, and so check local sites!

Air Force Association CyberCamps

The Air Force Association has CyberCamps through the summer for groups to introduce students to cyber security concepts and prepare them for their first CyberPatriot competition. They have a basic camp as well as an advanced camp. The basic camp is for students and cadets who have no previous cyber security or CyberPatriot experience while the advanced camp is for students who have some experience and want to learn additional concepts.

The camp is designed around a four hour day with lecture material and hands on lab learning Monday through Thursday. Friday is a mini CyberPatriot competition designed to reinforce the material that was learned during the week.

Individual camps would be required to secure computers, Internet connectivity, and facilities for their own camp. They also would be required to provide their own instructors who would use the provided material. The camp is a good way for new teams to get involved in CyberPatriot as well as for experienced teams to give new cadets and introduction to cyber security and CyberPatrot.

NHQ will be working with the Air Force Association to secure NHQ-sponsored AFA CyberCamps for CAP field use for summer 2020. If you or someone else within CAP would be interested in hosting a camp for your location, please send an email to Maj Bill Blatchley at wblatchley@cap.gov. More details will come later to those interested in this program. You can email Maj Blatchley if you have any questions that are not addressed herein.

More information on the AFA CyberCamp program can be found at: https://www.uscyberpatriot.org/afa-cybercamps/getting-started/afa-cybercamp-overview

CyberPatriot

CyberPatriot LogoCyberPatriot puts teams of high school and middle school students in the position of newly hired IT professionals tasked with managing the network of a small company. In the rounds of competition, teams are given a set of virtual images that represent operating systems and are tasked with finding cybersecurity vulnerabilities within the images and hardening the system while maintaining critical services in a six hour period. The top teams in the nation earn all-expenses paid trips to Baltimore, MD for the National Finals Competition where they can earn national recognition and scholarship money.​

Introduction to Cyber Security - Activity Guide

The Introduction to Cyber Security activity guide introduces cadets to the cyber domain. Topics include codes, ciphers, and encryption; basic defense skills; basic probing skills; cyber organization profiles; cyber domain history; and more. The activity guide may be implemented as a squadron activity or a self-study activity for individual cadets.

  • Audience: Cadet class or individual cadets of any grade
  • Format: Classroom lectures, activities, readings, and quizzes
  • Resource: PDF activity guide

Encampment Module: Introduction to the Cyber Domain

The encampment program's aerospace education block has five main components which includes the Introduction to Cyber Domain (PDF) 60-minute instructional block. 

Aerospace Dimensions Cyber Lesson

In development currently, the new Aerospace Dimensions cyber module will be added the requirements for all cadet airmen and cadet non-commissioned officers to complete before they may earn the Billy Mitchell Award. The Cyber Lesson (a.k.a Module 7) will be added to the existing Aerospace Dimension modules, thus removing the "no requirement" for Aerospace as noted currently for Achievement 8. 

Visit us on Facebook

Cyber Programs Staff

Contact specific Cyber Programs staff via their email addresses below or reach out to cyber-programs@cap.gov

Name Volunteer Position Supervisor
Lt Col William Sydow
wsydow@cap.gov
Coordinator, CAP Cyber Programs Mr. Curt Lafond
Lt Col Paul Creed III
pcreed@cap.gov
Deputy Coordinator for Operations Lt Col William Sydow
Lt Col Bryan Pettigrew
bpettigrew@cap.gov
Deputy Coordinator for Mission Support Lt Col William Sydow
Maj William Blatchley
wblatchley@cap.gov
Deputy Coordinator for Training Lt Col William Sydow
Maj Michael Dunn
mdunn@cap.gov
Cyber Curriculum Specialist Maj Bill Blatchley
Maj George Davis
george.davis@scwgcap.org
Cadet Cyber Events Coordinator Lt Col Paul Creed III
Lt Col Joseph Zachariah
jzachariah@cap.gov
Special Projects/Liaison with 33rd NWS Lt Col William Sydow
Lt Col CJ Muncy
cj.muncy@vawg.cap.gov
Special Projects Lt Col Bryan Pettigrew
Maj Jacob Bixler
jacob.bixler@vawg.cap.gov
PA Liaison Lt Col Bryan Pettigrew
Lt Col Jeff Morris
jmorris@ncr.cap.gov
NCR Cyber Officer Lt Col William Sydow
Maj Derek Rustvold
drustvold@cap.gov
MAR Cyber Officer Lt Col William Sydow
Maj Shannon Brumfield
shannon.brumfield@gawg.cap.gov
SER Cyber Officer Lt Col William Sydow
Vacant NER Cyber Officer Lt Col William Sydow
Vacant SWR Cyber Officer Lt Col William Sydow
Vacant PCR Cyber Officer Lt Col William Sydow
Col Robert Dempsey
rdempsey@ilwg.cap.gov
Illinois Wing Cyber Officer (de facto) Lt Col Paul Creed III
Col Philip Argenti
pargenti@cap.gov
Indiana Wing Cyber Officer (de facto) Lt Col Paul Creed III
Capt Sharon Howarth
showarth@kywg.cap.gov
Kentucky Wing Cyber Officer Lt Col Paul Creed III
Capt Stan Kowalski
skowalski@miwg.cap.gov
Michigan Wing Cyber Officer / GLR Cyber Academy Director Lt Col Paul Creed III
Lt Col Michael Sidman
michael.sidman@ohwg.cap.gov
Ohio Wing Cyber Officer / Cyber Instructor Lt Col Paul Creed III
Lt Col Jeff Thomas
jeffrey.thomas@wiwg.cap.gov
Wisconsin Wing Cyber Officer Lt Col Paul Creed III
Maj Paul Ault
pault@kywg.cap.gov
Kentucky Wing Aerospace Officer Lt Col Paul Creed III
Capt Chuck Milam
cmilam@cap.gov
Cyber Instructor Lt Col Paul Creed III
Maj Charlene Garcia
cgarcia@flwg.gov
Florida Wing Cyber Officer (de facto) Maj Shannon Brumfield
1st Lt Heath Barker
606864@tncap.us
Tennessee Wing Cyber Officer (de facto) Maj Shannon Brumfield
Capt Roy Vestal
rvestal@cap.gov
MAR Assistant Cyber Officer Maj Derek Rustvold
Lt Col Paul Selig
pselig@cap.gov
South Carolina Cyber Officer Maj Derek Rustvold
Capt Jared Mast
jared.mast@vawg.cap.gov
Virginia Cyber Officer / Cyber NCSA Activity Director Maj Derek Rustvold (George Davis)
1st Lt Omar Khouri
omar.khouri@ncwgcap.org
North Carolina Cyber Officer Maj Derek Rustvold
1st Lt Joshua Klosterman
jklosterman@ncr.cap.gov
Special Projects Maj Derek Rustvold
Capt Anthony Plattsmier
plattsmier@sbcglobal.net
Texas Wing Cyber Officer (de facto) Cyber NCSA Activity Director Maj George Davis
© 2020 Civil Air Patrol. All rights reserved.