Skip to main content
Civil Air Patrol National Headquarters
Main Content

Cadet Cyber

Developing the next generation of cyberspace defense operators is an urgent national need. CAP cadets are rising to the challenge through self-study, classroom lessons and activities, competitions, and week-long career exploration academies. 

 

Cyber Badge Program

Basic, Intermediate, and Advanced Cyber BadgesTo encourage cadet participation in CAP’s cyber education programs, cadets may earn the Cadet Cyber Badge which recognizes a cadet's dedication to cyber education. To learn more, download the pamphlet (PDF) and use the tracking log (XLSX) to keep track of the cadet's progress in the program. 

CAP National Cyber Academy

The CAP National Cyber Academy (CNCA), the summer cyber NCSA, integrates cyber security certification standards into career exploration courses and dovetails with the Cadet Program Cyber Module which is in production. The CNCA hosts two courses, Cyber Ops Fundamentals and Cyberspace Networking. CAP National Cyber Academy Emblem

The Summer 2020 campus schedule is:

  • CNCA - Virginia has been cancelled for 2020.
  • CNCA - Texas has been cancelled for 2020. 

Great Lakes Region Cybersecurity Academy

The CAP Great Lakes Region Cybersecurity Camp provides a place for cadets to grow their knowledge of Windows and Linux operating systems, networking, cybersecurity careers, cybersecurity defense techniques, and leadership—while having some fun in the process! Cadets will become stronger CyberPatriot competitors, with sharper leadership and teamwork skills, and will learn about future education and career options.

Air Force Association CyberCamps

The Air Force Association has CyberCamps through the summer for groups to introduce students to cyber security concepts and prepare them for their first CyberPatriot competition. They have a standard camp as well as an advanced camp. The standard camp is for students and cadets who have no previous cyber security or CyberPatriot experience while the advanced camp is for students who have some experience and want to learn additional concepts.

The camp is designed around a four hour day with lecture material and hands on lab learning Monday through Thursday. Friday is a mini CyberPatriot competition designed to reinforce the material that was learned during the week.

For 2020, NHQ will be sponsoring three weeks of camps:

  • Standard Camp: 15-19 June 2020
  • Standard Camp: 20-24 July 2020
  • Advanced Camp: 20-24 July 2020

The AFA CyberCamp fee for these three weeks is paid by NHQ directly. Host units will be responsible for obtaining computers and Internet connections to run the camp. In addition, the host unit will need to provide instructors to facilitate the training sessions contained in the material. Host units will be provided with electronic versions of the material and must print the workbooks for the cadets in attendance. Printing of the instructor's material is optional. The time of day when the host unit hosts the camp is up to them. It must be held Monday through Friday, however, on the days identified. Individual cadet registration is also the responsibility of the host unit.

Due to the COVID-19 situation, virtual delivery of the CyberCamps is also being planned as noted on https://www.uscyberpatriot.org/Pages/Announcements/COVID-19-Update-2020-AFA-CyberCamps.aspx

If the hosting unit has any technical issues or questions, they MUST NOT contact the AFA. All questions relating to these CyberCamps must be routed through the CAP Cyber Programs Team via cybercamps@cap.gov.

Host units may register via https://forms.gle/vq11LZ44L1AwfnsK8 until 31 May 2020. 

More information on the AFA CyberCamp program can be found at: https://www.uscyberpatriot.org/afa-cybercamps/getting-started/afa-cybercamp-overview

CyberPatriot

CyberPatriot LogoCyberPatriot puts teams of high school and middle school students in the position of newly hired IT professionals tasked with managing the network of a small company. In the rounds of competition, teams are given a set of virtual images that represent operating systems and are tasked with finding cybersecurity vulnerabilities within the images and hardening the system while maintaining critical services in a six hour period. The top teams in the nation earn all-expenses paid trips to Baltimore, MD for the National Finals Competition where they can earn national recognition and scholarship money.​

Introduction to Cyber Security - Activity Guide

The Introduction to Cyber Security activity guide introduces cadets to the cyber domain. Topics include codes, ciphers, and encryption; basic defense skills; basic probing skills; cyber organization profiles; cyber domain history; and more. The activity guide may be implemented as a squadron activity or a self-study activity for individual cadets.

  • Audience: Cadet class or individual cadets of any grade
  • Format: Classroom lectures, activities, readings, and quizzes
  • Resource: PDF activity guide

Encampment Module: Introduction to the Cyber Domain

The encampment program's aerospace education block has five main components which includes the Introduction to Cyber Domain (PDF) 60-minute instructional block. 

Aerospace Dimensions Cyber Lesson

In development currently, the new Aerospace Dimensions cyber module will be added the requirements for all cadet airmen and cadet non-commissioned officers to complete before they may earn the Billy Mitchell Award. The Cyber Lesson (a.k.a Module 7) will be added to the existing Aerospace Dimension modules, thus removing the "no requirement" for Aerospace as noted currently for Achievement 8. 

Visit us on Facebook

Cyber Programs Staff

Contact specific Cyber Programs staff via their email addresses below or reach out to cyber-programs@cap.gov

Name Volunteer Position Supervisor
Lt Col William Sydow
wsydow@cap.gov
Coordinator, CAP Cyber Programs Mr. Curt Lafond
Lt Col Paul Creed III
pcreed@cap.gov
Deputy Coordinator for Operations Lt Col William Sydow
Lt Col Bryan Pettigrew
bpettigrew@cap.gov
Deputy Coordinator for Mission Support Lt Col William Sydow
Maj William Blatchley
wblatchley@cap.gov
Deputy Coordinator for Training Lt Col William Sydow
Maj Michael Dunn
mdunn@cap.gov
Cyber Curriculum Specialist Maj Bill Blatchley
Maj George Davis
george.davis@scwgcap.org
Cadet Cyber Events Coordinator Lt Col Paul Creed III
Lt Col Joseph Zachariah
jzachariah@cap.gov
Special Projects/Liaison with 33rd NWS Lt Col William Sydow
Lt Col CJ Muncy
cj.muncy@vawg.cap.gov
Special Projects Lt Col Bryan Pettigrew
Maj Jacob Bixler
jacob.bixler@vawg.cap.gov
PA Liaison Lt Col Bryan Pettigrew
Lt Col Jeff Morris
jmorris@ncr.cap.gov
NCR Cyber Officer Lt Col William Sydow
Maj Derek Rustvold
drustvold@cap.gov
MAR Cyber Officer Lt Col William Sydow
Maj Shannon Brumfield
shannon.brumfield@gawg.cap.gov
SER Cyber Officer Lt Col William Sydow
Vacant NER Cyber Officer Lt Col William Sydow
Vacant SWR Cyber Officer Lt Col William Sydow
Vacant PCR Cyber Officer Lt Col William Sydow
Col Robert Dempsey
rdempsey@ilwg.cap.gov
Illinois Wing Cyber Officer (de facto) Lt Col Paul Creed III
Col Philip Argenti
pargenti@cap.gov
Indiana Wing Cyber Officer (de facto) Lt Col Paul Creed III
Capt Sharon Howarth
showarth@kywg.cap.gov
Kentucky Wing Cyber Officer Lt Col Paul Creed III
Capt Stan Kowalski
skowalski@miwg.cap.gov
Michigan Wing Cyber Officer / GLR Cyber Academy Director Lt Col Paul Creed III
Lt Col Michael Sidman
michael.sidman@ohwg.cap.gov
Ohio Wing Cyber Officer / Cyber Instructor Lt Col Paul Creed III
Lt Col Jeff Thomas
jeffrey.thomas@wiwg.cap.gov
Wisconsin Wing Cyber Officer Lt Col Paul Creed III
Maj Paul Ault
pault@kywg.cap.gov
Kentucky Wing Aerospace Officer Lt Col Paul Creed III
Capt Chuck Milam
cmilam@cap.gov
Cyber Instructor Lt Col Paul Creed III
Maj Charlene Garcia
cgarcia@flwg.gov
Florida Wing Cyber Officer (de facto) Maj Shannon Brumfield
1st Lt Heath Barker
606864@tncap.us
Tennessee Wing Cyber Officer (de facto) Maj Shannon Brumfield
Capt Roy Vestal
rvestal@cap.gov
MAR Assistant Cyber Officer Maj Derek Rustvold
Capt Jared Mast
jared.mast@vawg.cap.gov
Virginia Cyber Officer / Cyber NCSA AD Maj Derek Rustvold
Lt Col Paul Selig
pselig@cap.gov
South Carolina Cyber Officer Maj Derek Rustvold
1st Lt Omar Khouri
omar.khouri@ncwgcap.org
North Carolina Cyber Officer Maj Derek Rustvold
1st Lt Joshua Klosterman
jklosterman@ncr.cap.gov
Special Projects Maj Derek Rustvold
Lt Col Don Ells
dells@cap.gov
Maryland Cyber Officer Maj Derek Rustvold
Lt Col Sean McClanahan
mcclanahan.sean@dewg.cap.gov
Delaware Cyber Officer Maj Derek Rustvold
2nd Lt Anthony Hanners
Anthony.hanners@wvwg.cap.gov
West Virginia Cyber Officer Maj Derek Rustvold
Capt Roland Wright
wright.r@natcapwg.cap.gov
National Capital Cyber Officer Maj Derek Rustvold
Capt Anthony Plattsmier
plattsmier@sbcglobal.net
Texas Wing Cyber Officer (de facto) Cyber NCSA Activity Director Maj George Davis
© 2020 Civil Air Patrol. All rights reserved.